Travel Blog Bio

My role would be that of a Japanese comics fan. In Japan, this would be known as an “manga/anime(Japanese comics) otaku”. The interest is to read Japanese comic books and review them possibly based on criteria such as art/display, plot/storyline, idea/originality, etc.

There are professional bloggers who read and comment on Japanese comics. They are ranked by those who read their blog on content, writing style and availability (how often they update their blog). Blogs can be ranked by commenters and the top blogs will be shown on the blogging site. In truth, I know little about profession bloggers who blog about Japanese comics because they are written in Japanese.

An example of someone who reads Japanese comics for a living and judges them are the editors at Shounen Jump (a company that contracts Japanese comic artists (“mangaka”)). They read the drafts that the artists make of their chapters, guide them on how to improve the story, whether this can continue to sell or not, judge the visual quality and storyline, how to make characters more appealing, etc. I would probably be writing this blog for other fans or for artists on reviewing their work.

 

  1. Who are you?

I am a college student currently studying at Birmingham-Southern College in Birmingham, Alabama. In Spring  2014, I will hopefully study abroad in Japan at the university, Kansai Gaidai in Osaka. I am writing a blog in the perspective of a manga fan in Japan.

 

  1. What is your name? What does your name tell about you? What does it tell others about you?

My name is Katharine Liang. My first name, “Katharine” means “pure” in Greek. My last name is “Liang”, from this you can tell that I have Chinese heritage. The Chinese character for “Liang” is the same “Liang” from “Liang Shan Bo” (last name, first name), a character from the Chinese classic novel “Dream of the Red Chamber”.  My Chinese given name is “Bei Bei”. The Chinese character “Bei” comes from the Chinese word “Bao Bei” which means “precious” or “treasure”. Japan uses Kanji or traditional Chinese characters which means that if it made sense, I could probably use my Chinese name in Japan, by first converting it into Japanese Kanji?

  1. If you could give yourself a different name, what would it be? What does this new name mean? What would it tell about you?

I haven’t thought about that. I would probably just use the Japanese pronunciation for Katharine because it’s a well-known name in Japan and it’s easy to pronounce. Or I would use my Chinese name and convert to Japanese pronunciation if it made sense according to the language. I used to try to find my Japanese name by typing my english first name and last name into an online Japanese name generator, but I think it was just random. Although, I’m quiet compared to most people, so maybe a Japanese name for me would be “Shizuko”, which literally means “quiet child”. “Shizu” means quiet or peaceful, and “ko” means child and is an ending for a female name.

  1. Where were you born? Where did you come from? City? Town?

I was born in Rockville, Maryland. I lived there for 13 years. Then, I moved to Beijing with my parents and lived there for 5 years until I went to study at Birmingham-Southern College. I haven’t been back to Maryland in 6 years.

  1. Where did your grandparents come from? Mother’s side? Father’s side?

My maternal grandmother was from Shanghai and maternal grandfather was from Beijing. My paternal grandparents are from Shaan Xi, another province in China besides Shanghai and Beijing.

  1. What is your nationality? My nationality is USA.
  1. What language(s) do you speak at home?

I speak English and Chinese at home. But I’m more fluent in English, so if I don’t know how to say it in Chinese, I will use English.

  1. What kind of neighborhood did you grow up in?

I lived in North Potomac, Rockville. North Potomac is a small suburban neighborhood. Rockville is a small town in the state of Maryland.

  1. How did you celebrate birthdays?

I celebrate it by having a celebration with friends or family, usually with cake, presents, a fancy meal, and playing (e.g. party at bowling alley).

  1. How did you celebrate holidays?

I celebrate Western holidays the American way because as I said before I grew up in Maryland. E.g. Christmas, Halloween, Thanksgiving.

I celebrate Chinese holidays the Chinese way. E.g. Mid-Autumn Festival, Chinese New Years, etc. My mom took me to a mid-autumn festival event held at a public high school and I saw events such as the lion dance at local malls. In China and in Maryland we bought and split moon cake between us to symbolize the togetherness of family. In China, we celebrated Chinese New Year’s by staying with my paternal grandparents’ in Shaan Xi province for a week. My paternal grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins all lived together. We (me, my father, cousins, and uncle) would go from relatives’ house to house in the village and pay Chinese New Year respects which is saying “hi”, inquiring about their well-being, paying respects to departed relatives (the men bowing to the shrine in each house and lighting incense – only the men, not the women bowing is limited to perhaps the northern part of China). Adults would give Chinese New Year money packed in red envelopes to kids. We would also eat dumplings, and in one of the dumplings would be placed a small coin or dollar. Whoever got the dumpling that had the money in it would have good luck for the coming year. We also ate “Zong Zi”. It is glutinous rice wrapped in bamboo leaves. There are different fillings in the rice such as red bean, meat, nuts, etc.

  1. Describe a memorable family meal.

A memorable family meal would be Chinese New Year’s time when we stay with my paternal relatives. Since we live in different regions, it’s a time to spend time with family that you don’t normally see.

  1. Who are your favorite relatives?

I like both my maternal and paternal relatives, but I’ve spent the most time with my paternal relatives. So, I’m the most familiar with them. If ‘relatives’ include your nuclear family, then I would say them, again, because I’m the most familiar with them.

  1. What are your favorite foods?

My favorite foods are sushi and french fries.

  1. Have you any ethnic traits that you are proud of? Conceal? Why?

I am proud of my physical appearance: my facial features and hair because they’re physically attractive. I can’t think of any traits that I would try to conceal.

  1. Why are you writing your blog to this audience?

I am writing this blog post to inform my audience about me as the writer. So, they can see why I might think a certain way maybe based on my experience or upbringing.

Leave a Reply

